Ezra Shaw / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The Chicago Cubs are attempting to become the sixth team in MLB history to win the World Series after going down 3-1.

Only five teams have achieved the mark since the 2-3-2 format was implemented in 1925, with the last of them being the 1985 Kansas City Royals.

  • 1925: Pirates over Senators
  • 1958: Yankees over Braves
  • 1968: Tigers over Cardinals
  • 1979: Pirates over Orioles
  • 1985: Royals over Cardinals

Overall, the mathematical odds still favor the Cleveland Indians. Of the 64 teams that have held a 3-2 lead, 43 of them have won the World Series.

That being said, there were 21 comebacks, with six teams winning Games 6 and 7 on the road since 1925.

Chicago will send Jake Arrieta to the mound for Game 6 on Tuesday, while the Indians will counter with Josh Tomlin.