1h ago

Billie Weiss/Boston Red Sox / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Following a pair of MVP-caliber performances at the plate this season, Boston Red Sox icon David Ortiz and Chicago Cubs star Kris Bryant were among the 30 nominees announced Thursday for the Hank Aaron Award, given annually to the best hitter in each league.

First awarded in 1999, the hardware will be handed out ahead of Game 4 of the World Series, with Aaron himself – the 25-time All-Star who hit .305 with 755 homers throughout his illustrious career – presenting the winners with their trophies.

American League

Team Player Position
Orioles Mark Trumbo RF
Red Sox David Ortiz DH
White Sox Jose Abreu 1B
Indians Jose Ramirez 3B
Tigers Miguel Cabrera 1B
Astros Jose Altuve 2B
Royals Eric Hosmer 1B
Angels Mike Trout CF
Twins Brian Dozier 2B
Yankees Didi Gregorius SS
Athletics Khris Davis LF
Mariners Nelson Cruz DH
Rays Evan Longoria 3B
Rangers Adrian Beltre 3B
Blue Jays Josh Donaldson 3B

National League

Team Player Pos.
D-Backs Jake Lamb 3B
Braves Freddie Freeman 1B
Cubs Kris Bryant 3B
Reds Joey Votto 1B
Rockies Nolan Arenado 3B
Dodgers Corey Seager SS
Marlins Christian Yelich LF
Brewers Ryan Braun LF
Mets Yoenis Cespedes LF
Phillies Odubel Herrera CF
Pirates Gregory Polanco RF
Padres Wil Myers 1B
Giants Brandon Crawford SS
Cardinals Stephen Piscotty RF
Nationals Daniel Murphy 2B

Last year, in his first season with the Toronto Blue Jays, Josh Donaldson took home the award in the American League, smashing 41 homers and 41 doubles while hitting .297/.371/.568 (151 OPS+) in 158 games. Bryce Harper, the Washington Nationals phenom who clobbered 42 homers and 38 doubles while managing a 1.109 OPS, received the award in the National League.